The Institute for Objectivist Studies

Home » News » Chris Sciabarra’s “Ayn Rand the Russian Radical,” 2.0

Chris Sciabarra’s “Ayn Rand the Russian Radical,” 2.0

Chris Sciabarra has a series of posts at his blog–August 12, 13, 14, and-15–discussing the just-released second edition of his 1995 book, Ayn Rand: The Russian Radical (Penn State). The link above takes you to the page for Sciabarra’s blog, and you can scroll down to your preferred post from there. (I’ll replace the single link with separate links for each post at some point.) He tells quite a story in the series, and the story he tells there is only the half of it. Some of us still remember the nature of the controversy over the book in the 1990s: some heat, some light, and, frankly, some ugliness.

Cover of "Ayn Rand: The Russian Radical"

Cover of Ayn Rand: The Russian Radical

I’m told (by Chris, so I guess it’s not merely an idle rumor) that I make a cameo appearance of sorts in “Appendix III, A Challenge to Russian Radical–and Ayn Rand,” which is new to this edition. You’ll have to get the book and read it to see what form it takes (not that I’d be so vain as to suggest that you buy the book for that reason–much less that I would).

A confession: I bought but never read Ayn Rand: The Russian Radical when it first came out.  I’d wanted to let the polemical dust settle before I did [so as not to be overly influenced by anyone’s opinion about it].* I figure nineteen years’ delay ought to be enough for that. So the new edition is on my Wish List, and I’m hoping to read it before the calendar year is  out.

Congratulations to Chris on getting the second edition out!

Irfan

*Bracketed phrase added after posting.

Comments closed

